Skip to main content

Collegiate Council

The Collegiate Council will provide advice and recommendations to the Board of Trustees on how the University supports the interests of the federation’s members in pursuit of its charitable objects which are: for the public benefit, to promote education of a university standard and the advancement of knowledge and learning by teaching and research; and to encourage the achievement and maintenance of the highest academic standards.

The Collegiate Council has a particular focus on enduring the University continues to meet its strategic objectives to serve, support and add value to its federation members.

Collegiate Council Members:


  • The Vice-Chancellor (Professor Wendy Thomson)


  • The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Professor David Latchman)

Heads of Federation Members

  • Professor Sally Wheeler, OBE, Birkbeck, Ƶ
  • Professor Sir Anthony Finkelstein, CBE, City, Ƶ
  • Professor Mark Hallett, Märit Rausing Director, The Courtauld Institute of Art
  • Professor Frances Corner, Goldsmiths, Ƶ
  • Professor Kristian Helin, The Institute of Cancer Research
  • Professor Shitij Kapur, King’s College Ƶ
  • Mr François Ortalo-Magné, Ƶ Business School
  • Professor Eric Neumayer (interim), The Ƶ School of Economics and Political Science
  • Professor Liam Smeeth, Ƶ School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Colin Bailey, Queen Mary Ƶ
  • Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, Royal Academy of Music
  • Josette Bushell-MingoOBE, The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • Professor Julie Sanders, Royal Holloway, Ƶ
  • Professor Stuart Reid, The Royal Veterinary College
  • Professor Adam Habib, SOAS Ƶ
  • Professor Jenny Higham, St George’s, Ƶ
  • Dr Michael Spence AC, UCL

The functions and constitution of the Collegiate Council are set out in University Ordinance 4. The University is currently reviewing its Statutes and Ordinances ,and this Ordinance is subject to change.